Cheers to the Freakin Weekend

Weekends mean something entirely different these days than they have in the past. In highschool I looked forward to them because it meant I had 2 days to hang out with my friends, sleep in and sneak alcohol in the house. In college the weekends were a time to catch up on lost sleep and unfinished homework and spend time with my fiance. Once I got married, got a house and full time job I looked forward to weekends to catch up on housework and laundry.

These days, I spend my weekends cuddled on the couch watching Mickey Mouse in the midst of my messy house. I get up at 7 am, because much like his mother was as a child, P is an early riser. I couldn’t care less that I have no less than 10 loads of laundry I could be doing, and it’s not an issue that I don’t have dinner planned. I spend 40 hours a week wishing I was home with my tiny boy watching him grow and learn… I wouldn’t trade these weekends for anything in the world, It’s the only time I get to focus on nothing except being this little boy’s mommy. Time is going by faster than I ever imagined and I’m going to cherish every second of my son’s childhood.

One thought on “Cheers to the Freakin Weekend

Leave a Reply

